Look on the Bright Side

“If it clouds up in the city,

The weather man complains.

But where I come from,

Rain is a good thing.”

Luke Bryan, Rain is a Good Thing

How many times have you heard people complain? People complain that it’s Monday, or that they have to go to work all day, or that it’s raining (…snowing if you’re in Ohio).

I don’t know about you, but I find complaining extremely annoying.

Now don’t get me wrong; I don’t necessarily enjoy Mondays, working nine to five, or rain/snow, but I at least try to look on the bright side of life.

  • Instead of complaining that it’s Monday, be thankful you woke up to see another day.
  • Instead of complaining about your work schedule, think about all the people who are struggling because they don’t have a job.
  • Instead of complaining about the weather, be thankful you get to experience different seasons.

What is Optimism?

Webster’s Dictionary has two definitions for the word optimism.

  1. “A doctrine that this world is the best possible world.”
  2. “An inclination to put the most favorable construction upon actions and events or to anticipate the best possible outcome.”

How Optimism Will Change Your Life

Being optimistic is a choice. If you choose to have a positive outlook, your life will improve in many ways.

How optimism will change your life:

  • Attitude. There’s a drastic difference between an optimistic person’s attitude and a pessimistic person’s attitude. An optimistic person tends to be happier.
  • Health. Being optimistic improves your health. According to research done by Mental Health America, “people who are pessimistic have a 20 percent higher chance of dying over a 30-year period than those who are optimistic.”
  • Personable. People would rather be around someone who looks on the bright side of life rather than someone who is always down in the dumps.

Check out 10 ways to start feeling optimistic about your life.

How to be Optimistic

  • Use positive self-talk.
  • Count your blessings. Be grateful and thankful for everything you have – your home, friends, family, health, vehicle, etc.
  • Smile more often. Smiling will make yourself feel happy – even if you’re having a bad day.
  • Don’t sweat the small stuff. If you’re worried about something (a test for example), remind yourself it’s only one test. In five years, it probably won’t matter what grade you got on one test in one class.
  • Look to the future. Don’t dwell on past failures. Look ahead and strive for success.

Remember: No One is Perfect

You might be an optimistic person, but that doesn’t mean every day is filled with smiles and rainbows. Everyone has bad days.

Getting a flat tire, receiving a bad grade or having a migraine are a few things that might put a damper on your day. Luckily, each day is a new beginning. Each new day has the potential to be extraordinary if you have that mindset.

Do you think being optimistic has the power to change your life? Why or why not?

3 thoughts on “Look on the Bright Side

  1. Not only am I huge country fan, but I love that you really picked apart the meaning of this song. Everyday I hear people complain about the rain or things that are not that bad, and I agree that things could always be worse. I love that you defined optimism and different ways to achieve it. I agree with you that the mindset you have in life is everything. I think your Web Diary is very uplifting and could really put things into perspective for some people.The content used is very helpful, it was edited, a nice enhanced designed was used and you asked a question at the end to build interactivity. I think being optimistic can change your life because it can change the way you view things that happen to you in a positive way. Also, having the mindset things could be worse and not in a way that depresses you or makes you think the world is out to get you. Being optimistic opens doors you never had even known existed. So to answer your question yes, yes it can change your life.

  2. I love country music as well and I feel that there is a lot to learn from music in general. Being an optimist does have the power to change your life. If you are constantly looking forthe negative side of things, you will eventually find bad in everything. Although, being an optimist can sometimes cause problems. If you are constantly looking at the world through rose colored glasses you may become too naive and get taken advantage of more often than not. So, yes being an optimist is good and will help brighten your life, but you also need to keep in mind that some things you will be unable to find good in and you may need to acknowledge the bad.

  3. I have never really thought about music in this way. When I listen to music, I never think about themes or hidden meanings in a song. I just use music to jam out to and dance. I do get where you find optimism in this. This lesson could be used in other areas of my life such as I have to finish college to get that degree to buy the big Jeep that I want. Do you know of any other songs that have these types of lessons or themes? I can’t think of any that aren’t serious songs. I like country songs that remind me of home. Cruise by Florida Georgia line reminds me of summer and driving down a back down with my windows down. Anything Jason Aldean also reminds me of home because he is basically singing about my hometown. Do you have any favorite songs that remind you have certain things?

Leave a Reply

