Live in the Present

“These are some good times,

So take a good look around,

You may not know it now,

But you’re gonna miss this.”

Trace Adkins, You’re Gonna Miss This

Class, homework, and work. That’s my life, and I’m sure a lot of college students can relate – especially around mid-terms.

Today in the short amount of time between classes and work, I thought about all the things I had to get done. I broke down and started crying. I hardly ever cry, but enough stress has that effect on me.

Luckily my dad was home, so I started venting to him. I told him how I can’t wait to graduate, leave Ohio, and get a real job. My dad’s response was: “Don’t wish your life away. After you graduate, move out of Ohio and get a real job, you’ll look back on these days and wish you could live them over again.”

My Dad as a little boy

My Dad told me the same thing when I was in high school. I couldn’t wait until my basketball season was over back then, but now, I would give anything to play another game with my teammates.

You’re Gonna Miss This

My Dad’s advice made me think of the song “You’re Gonna Miss This,” by Trace Adkins.

The song is about a girl who can’t wait to turn 18, then she grows up and she can’t wait to move out of her apartment into a house and have babies. Her mom and dad both tell her to slow down, because she’s going to miss those days.

Wishing Your Life Away

There are a number of major events that most people look forward to in their lifetimes.

Some of these events include:

  • Turning 18
  • Graduating High School
  • Turning 21
  • Graduating College
  • Moving Out
  • Getting Married
  • Having Kids

Looking forward to these events is normal, but you shouldn’t focus on a future event so much that you forget to pay attention to the present.

Turning 21

I couldn’t wait to turn 21.  I wanted to go out drinking at the Dusty Armadillo with my sisters for so long. Being 21 was awesome for the first month or so, but it’s not as awesome as I always imagined it to be. I can’t believe I looked forward to it for as long as I did.

I won’t say any names, but one of my friends has been counting down to his 21st birthday for two whole years. He talks about turning 21 all the time and how he can’t wait to go out to the bars with everyone. I just think he’s crazy.

Now that I’m 21, I look back to when I was 18, 19 and 20, and I wouldn’t mind going back to those years.

Living in the Present

It’s important to have things to look forward to, but it’s even more important to live in the present and appreciate your life as it currently is.

Here are some tips to living in the present moment.

Living in the present is difficult advice to abide by, especially if you’re young and have your whole life ahead of you. However, if you don’t consider these words of wisdom now, you will learn them too late, when your life has all ready passed you by.

2 thoughts on “Live in the Present

  1. Your dad is right. And it looks like you’ve already taken his advice to heart. I’m now at a point in my life where I want time to stop!

    • I’m finally starting to realize my dad was right about everything he told me while I was growing up!

      I’m also at a point in my life where I wish I could go back in time. I want to play in another high school basketball game, or spend the night at my grandparents’ house like I did when I was young.

      Memories truly mean everything once special times have passed! Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

