Money and Happiness

“How many times have

You heard someone say,

‘If I had his money,

I could do things my way.’

But little they know,

That it’s so hard to find

One rich man in ten

With a satisfied mind.”

Johnny Cash, Satisfied Mind

First and foremost, Happy birthday to Johnny Cash! Although he’s no longer alive, Cash remains to be an iconic artist in country music.

Cash has a ton of songs that have valuable lessons within the lyrics, so it was hard to choose which one to write about. The lyrics to ‘Satisfied Mind’ stuck out to me the most because it’s applicable to a lot of college students – mostly broke, yet striving to make bank.

Will this lead you to happiness?

Will this lead you to happiness?

Money Can’t Buy Happiness

The lesson to be learned from Cash’s song, ‘Satisfied Mind,’ is that money doesn’t lead to happiness. Being content with what you have, however, does.

Now, I know what you’re probably thinking. Being rich would make you happier than living in poverty.

You’re probably right.

But according to a post on Forbes’ website, money doesn’t play a role in happiness after a person reaches a “comfortable standard” of living. So if you have enough money to get by, take a deep breath and remember you don’t need all the money in the world to be happy.

Things that bring happiness

  • Spending time with family and friends. Plan a game night, host a potluck party or go on a hike with your loved ones.
  • Learning a new hobby. Learn how to do something you’ve always been interested in, but never got around to doing. Or better yet, do something completely out of your comfort zone.
  • Exercising. Getting off the couch is the most difficult step. Getting in shape will boost your confidence and make you happier.
  • Volunteering. Find a local organization and find out how you can help. Helping other people is proven to fight depression.
  • Looking on the bright side. For example, instead of dreading Mondays, be thankful you get to see another day.

These are just a couple ways to develop a satisfied mind. It may sound cliché, but most things that make you happy really are free!

According to researchers Tim Kassar and Richard Ryan, prioritizing money puts your mental health at risk.

Health risks include:

  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Low self-esteem

So next time you’re struggling financially, think of Cash’s song ‘Satisfied Mind.’ Remember that being happy is in your control, and it’s in your best interest.

What are some things that satisfy your mind?

2 thoughts on “Money and Happiness

  1. I know money can’t by happiness. My old roomate had lots of money and was the most unhappy person that I know. Money can just buy you things that you think will make you happy, but in reality family, Jesus and my friends is what makes me happy not money.

    • I totally agree with you. Before I was in college I had a lot of money. I could go shopping, go out to eat and go on mini-vacations whenever I wanted. Now I’m living paycheck to paycheck, but it has really put things into perspective. I don’t need to have money to be happy; all I need is Jesus, my friends and my family! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

